Every e-bike has a weight limit: the max load, or payload, that its brand sets. For a heavy rider, choose a model whose stated max load covers your body weight, gear and cargo with room to spare, then check what that number includes. Brands count it differently, and some also set a rider limit that is lower than the max load.
Brand figures checked October 22, 2026, on each brand's Canadian site. Ontario rules checked October 2026. This is general information, not legal advice.
What max load means on a spec sheet
Max load, payload, weight capacity and maximum bike load all name the most weight the brand rates the bike to carry. Ontario's e-bike rules set no rider weight limit: their 120 kg cap applies to the e-bike itself, battery included. Your number comes from the brand's spec sheet and FAQ.
The catch is what the figure covers. Three examples from bikes we sell:
- Bike weight included: Velotric's FAQ says the GoMad's 227 kg total payload "includes the combined weight of the bike, rider, cargo, and any passenger." The bike weighs about 35 kg, which leaves about 192 kg for people and gear.
- Rider and cargo only: for the Triker, Velotric says the 227 kg maximum is "including rider and cargo", and its rear basket carries up to 54 kg of that.
- A lower rider limit: Himiway lists a payload capacity of about 181 kg for the D5 2.0 ST, yet the same page says the bike isn't recommended for riders over 120 kg.
Read the whole product page, FAQ included, before you compare two numbers. If a brand doesn't say what its figure includes, ask before you order.
How much max load do you need?
Add up everything the bike will carry, then leave a margin for heavier days. The table is a worked example with round numbers, not a measurement.
| What the bike carries | Worked example |
|---|---|
| Rider, dressed, with helmet | 140 kg |
| Backpack or pannier | 8 kg |
| Groceries on the rack | 15 kg |
| Total | 163 kg |
A bike rated for 150 kg is out. One rated for 200 kg leaves 37 kg of room. If the brand counts the bike in its figure, add the bike first: on the GoMad, the same 163 kg plus 35 kg of bike makes 198 kg, against a 227 kg limit.
Racks and baskets have their own ratings, and they apply even when the total has room left. Velotric rates the Nomad 2's rear rack for about 30 kg and the GoMad's for about 80 kg.
Parts that matter for heavier riders
Brakes
Brakes turn speed into heat, and the energy they absorb rises in step with total mass. Worked example, not a measurement: at 32 km/h, 100 kg of rider and bike carries about 3,950 joules of kinetic energy, while 180 kg carries about 7,110 joules.
Every model in our table below lists disc brakes, and the Nomad 2X, Nomad 2 and GoMad pair Tektro hydraulic brakes with 203 mm front rotors. For a legal benchmark, Ontario requires an e-bike's brakes to stop it from 30 km/h within 9 metres on level asphalt.
Wheels and tires
The Nomad 2X, Nomad 2 and GoMad all run 4-inch-wide Kenda fat tires: 26-inch wheels on the two Nomads, 20-inch on the GoMad. Whatever the width, keep tire pressure within the range printed on the sidewall.
Motor and hills
Extra weight shows most on climbs. Our guide to how fast e-bikes go works out the watts needed to lift 100, 120 and 140 kg up 4%, 8% and 12% grades. If your route is hilly, our hub motor vs mid-drive guide explains how each motor type handles a climb.
Frame size
A high max load doesn't help if the frame doesn't fit. Velotric splits the Nomad 2X into a step-thru for riders 150 to 178 cm tall and a high-step for 178 to 196 cm, with one 254 kg max load listed for the model.
Range with a heavier load
More mass takes more energy to climb and to accelerate from every stop, so plan on fewer kilometres than the headline figure. Check how that figure was measured. Samebike, for example, says its CY20 range was tested by a 75 kg rider on a flat road in pedal-assist mode 1.
Our battery range guide shows how to plan a trip with a conservative Wh per km.
Power limits and where you can ride
More motor power helps on hills, but provinces cap it. Ontario allows a motor of 500 W or less and motor help up to 32 km/h. Our e-bike laws page covers Quebec, B.C. and Alberta too.
Several high-load models list a 750 W motor, above Ontario's 500 W limit. We sell bikes rated above 500 W for private-property use only; each product page shows the motor rating, and our e-bike rules page covers each province.
E-bikes we sell that list 200 kg or more
Selection: e-bikes in our store whose brand lists a max load of 200 kg or more, checked October 22, 2026. These are examples, not a ranking, and every figure is the brand's own.
| Model | Max load | What the brand says it includes | Motor | Bike weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Velotric Nomad 2X | 254 kg | Not stated | 750 W rear hub | 36 kg |
| Velotric Nomad 2 | 229 kg | Not stated | 750 W rear hub | 34 kg |
| Velotric GoMad | 227 kg | Bike, rider, cargo and passenger | 750 W rear hub | 35 kg |
| Meet One Breeze 2.0 (trike) | 204 kg | Not stated | 500 W | 57 kg |
| EUNORAU ONE-TRIKE 2.0 (trike) | 200 kg | Not stated | 500 W | 39 kg |
| Velotric Discover M | 200 kg | Not stated | 500 W mid-drive | 27 kg |
Where the table says "not stated", ask the brand or us before you count on the full figure. Two of these are trikes, and our electric trikes collection has more three-wheel options.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a weight limit for electric bikes?
Yes. Each brand sets a max load, or payload, for its bike, and some add a lower rider limit on the same page. Ontario's e-bike rules don't limit rider weight: their 120 kg cap is for the e-bike itself, battery included.
What is the best e-bike for heavy riders in Canada?
We don't rank bikes. Start with the brand's max load and what it includes, add your weight, gear and cargo, and leave a margin. Then check brakes, frame size, rack ratings and whether the motor fits your province's rules.
Can a 150 kg person ride an e-bike?
Yes, on a bike rated for 150 kg plus everything else you carry, with room to spare. Check whether the brand counts the bike's own weight in that figure, and whether it sets a separate, lower rider limit.
Does rider weight affect e-bike range?
Yes. More mass takes more energy on hills and at every start, so expect fewer kilometres than a range figure measured with a lighter test rider on flat ground.
Sources
- Velotric: GoMad specifications and FAQ (checked October 22, 2026)
- Velotric: Triker specifications and FAQ (checked October 22, 2026)
- Velotric: Nomad 2X specifications and geometry (checked October 22, 2026)
- Velotric: Nomad 2 specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Velotric: Discover M specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Himiway Canada: D5 2.0 ST specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Samebike Canada: CY20 specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Meet One Canada: Breeze 2.0 specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Meet One Canada: Breeze Pro 2.0 page, model comparison with motor ratings (checked October 22, 2026)
- EUNORAU Canada: ONE-TRIKE 2.0 specifications (checked October 22, 2026)
- Government of Ontario: Riding an e-bike (updated July 19, 2024)
Next step: compare high-load models side by side in our fat-tire e-bikes collection.